• Black Faggot & Other Plays
    Black Faggot & Other Plays
    ISBN: 9781776561032
    Title: Black Faggot & Other Plays

    Three darkly provocative and ground-breaking plays by award-winning playwright Victor Rodger explore what it means to be gay and Samoan in contemporary New Zealand. The collection includes Black Faggot (2012), At the Wake (2012) and Club Paradiso (2015). Victor Rodger is an award-winning playwright of Samoan and Scottish heritage. His first play, Sons, debuted in 1995. Since then he has eight other plays produced, both nationally and internationally. He has held writing residencies at the University of Canterbury, the University of Hawaii and Otago University. He is currently the writer in residence at Victoria University of Wellington.

    Format: Paperback
    Price: $35.00
  • End of the Golden Weather
    End of the Golden Weather
    ISBN: 9780864732729
    Title: End of the Golden Weather
    Author: MASON BRUCE

    The story of a young boy's extarordinary summer on a beach holiday, "The End of the Golden Weather" is a touchstone of the New Zealand experience.

    Format: Paperback
    Price: $20.00
  • Floating Islanders: Pasifika Theatre in Aotearoa
    Floating Islanders: Pasifika Theatre in Aotearoa
    ISBN: 9781988531076
    Title: Floating Islanders: Pasifika Theatre in Aotearoa

    is book celebrates 30 years of Pasifika theatre in Aotearoa/New Zealand. Pacific Underground, Pacific Theatre, The Laughing Samoans, The Conch, The Naked Samoans, Kila Kokonut Krew - the distinctive style and themes of Pasifika theatre have been developed by many individuals and theatre companies in New Zealand. Authors Lisa Warrington and David O'Donnell have interviewed over 30 theatre practitioners to tell the story of Pasifika theatre in Aotearoa from 1984 to 2015. This lively book showcases playwrights, directors and performers whose heritage lies in Samoa, Niue, Fiji, Tonga, Tokelau and the Cook Islands. Extracts from the interviews are threaded throughout the book, providing often entertaining insights into their history and creative practice. While the immigrant experience of living in two worlds is often seen as troubled, the authors suggest that this 'in-between-ness' has been turned to advantage in Pasifika theatre to create a unique and often subversive performance phenomenon. Not only is Pasifika theatre a success story within the performing arts in New Zealand, it is also an intriguing case study of migrant theatre that has international resonance.

    Format: Paperback
    Price: $40.00
  • Foreskin's Lament
    Foreskin's Lament
    ISBN: 9780864730312
    Title: Foreskin's Lament
    Author: MCGEE GREG

    Format: Paperback
    Price: $20.00
  • Wednesday to Come
    Wednesday to Come
    ISBN: 9781776562138
    Title: Wednesday to Come
    Author: RENEE

    Renée’s three seminal New Zealand plays Wednesday to Come, Pass it On and Jeannie Once are published together for the first time.

    In Wednesday To Come Renée takes four women of four generations in a single family and looks at how they cope with the Great Depression of the 1930s.

    In Pass It On, Jeannie and Cliff, the two adolescents joined the hunger march in Wednesday to Come, have each grown up and married. Pass It On explores the very different experiences of Jeannie, the political activist, and Cliff’s wife Nell, and traces their relationship from initial distrust to a firm allegiance against the political and economic forces which threaten their families.

    Jeannie Once, tells the story of Jeannie’s great grandmother living in Victorian era Dunedin.

    Format: Paperback
    Price: $30.00
  • Wellington Summer Shakespeare 1983 - 2017
    Wellington Summer Shakespeare 1983 - 2017
    ISBN: 9781776560981
    Title: Wellington Summer Shakespeare 1983 - 2017

    Since its first production of A Midsummer Night’s Dream in 1983, the Wellington Summer Shakespeare has become an unmissable annual event, staging some of the liveliest Shakespeare productions performed in New Zealand. Over 33 years, the Summer Shakespeare has enthralled audiences, introduced new generations of theatregoers to Shakespeare in performance, and played a formative role in the early careers of many of New Zealand’s leading creatives. Wellington Summer Shakespeare 1983–2017 collects photos, ephemera and memories from some of the plays’ directors to document the evolution of Wellington’s only large-scale, large-cast, outdoor theatre event.

    Format: Paperback
    Price: $35.00